Stellenbosch University | Political Science


English | Afrikaans


The discipline of Political Science includes a wide variety of sub-fields, such as Political Economy, Conflict Studies, International Relations, Comparative Politics, Political Behaviour, Political Risk Analysis, and Public Policy Studies. What these sub-fields have in common is the focus on collective human behaviour, the institutions and norms involved in public policy making, and the patterns of power and privilege that characterise our world.

The Department of Political Science offers a broad spectrum of undergraduate modules and post-graduate programmes.

Prospective students should contact us for further information, and also visit the website of the University of Stellenbosch for details on application procedures, bursaries, and fees.

Prospective international students should visit the website of the International Office for advice. Please contact the Secretary, Department of Political Science.